Information About The Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf Mark 7 Facelift (2017 to PRESENT)

This is the current generation of Golf, and it’s a facelift on the Mark 7 that includes even further refinements. Attainting the latest info-tainment system, safety technology and a style upgrade, a sophisticated 1.5 litre TSI EVO petrol engine is now available that produces an impressive 129 BHP.

The Mark 7.5 is also now available with a 1.0 TSI turbocharged petrol engine, producing 83 BHP that is still spritely and returns an impressive fuel economy and reduction in the overall running costs.

All variants of the latest generation Golf come with a new 8-inch colour touch screen info-tainment system, complete with gesture sensors that increase the screen’s visibility even further. Every model has autonomous emergency city braking as standard, which helps to mitigate potential collisions. (Please refer to your vehicle hand book for more information on this safety feature). Volkswagen have also released the 7.5 Golf in a signature colour: White Silver Metallic. It has the new style front bumper and headlights with rear cluster style tailgate lights and upgraded alloy wheels. Internally, there are improved upholsteries and fascia trims.

Volkswagen Golf Mark 7 (2013 to 2017)

This generation of Volkswagen Golf was released in 2013 with a completely new design. It was bigger, lighter, and safer than the mark 6. Internal space for passengers was increased, and so did the external dimensions. Depending on what model you compare it to, the total weight reduction can be up to 100kg, which translates as better fuel economy and a reduction in harmful emissions.

The Mark 7 is packed full of new technology, including 5 inch colour touchscreen DAB radio, complete with Bluetooth handsfree mobile phone connectivity as standard. There’s a new driving mode selection for your required performance level too: Eco, Normal, Sport and Custom.

Other standard equipment is:

  • Trip computer
  • Daytime running lights
  • Air conditioning
  • Electric mirrors and windows
  • Outside temperature indicator
  • Tilt/reach steering column adjustment
  • Height adjustable seats
  • Pollen filter
  • Remote central locking and heat-insulating windows.

All petrol Mark 7 Golfs come with a TSI engine for fuel savings as standard, which reduces car tax (RFL) and therefore the overall running costs of the car. Both the petrol and the diesel versions of the Mark 7 have the Start/Stop technology fitted as standard, while the SE models and higher come with the radar based adaptive cruise control system, Proactive Occupant Protection (This will will close the windows and retract the safety belts to remove excess slack if the potential for a forward crash is detected. Multi-collision brake system (automatic post-collision braking system) to automatically brake the car after an accident in order to avoid a second collision and city emergency braking automatically activates brakes at low speeds in urban situations (among other features). This Golf has been awarded a 5 star NCAP rating, which is the highest a car can be awarded. This is due to the antilock brakes, stability control, brake-force distribution, brake assist, three-point seatbelts with front seat pretensioners, and the anti-whiplash head restraints in all five seating positions as standard.

​Volkswagen Golf Mark 6 (2009 to 2012)

This generation of Golf car focused on refinement upgrades, such as noise reduction by:

  • Window insolation;
  • A thicker windscreen; and
  • All new door design for a sizeable reduction in wind noise.

This Golf also has a more modern interior and the safety systems have been upgraded by:

  • Adding a driver’s knee airbag, which bring the airbags up to seven as standard.
  • A new head restraint system designed to reduce whiplash injuries.
  • All models come with ESP (Electronic Stability Programme) as well as ABS (anti-lock braking system) and the Golf has been awarded a 5 star NCAP rating, the highest a car can get.

A selection of new engines are available for the first time with this generation. The new TSI (Turbocharged Stratified Injection) engine allows for higher torque at lower RPMs, which means more power with less fuel usage by using a turbocharger. The Golf mark 6 comes with the standard 5 or 6 speed gearboxes, but the increasingly popular semi-automatic 7 speed DSG gearbox is also available.

Safety, comfort and reliability are the main properties Volkswagen took into account when building the mark 6, which they made to the highest quality standards. The new TSI engine is more fuel efficient than a standard aspirated engine; plus it qualifies for a lower tax band. This helps reduce your overall running costs and has the added benefit of being chain, not cambelt driven, reducing your servicing and maintenance bills in the future.

The videos and information on this page are describing different models of Volkswagen Golfs. The technology and specifications are different between lower and top range models. Please contact us for more information about the variations available.

For more detailed information about safety features please refer to your vehicle handbook.

Youtube video credit: Manufacturing video for Golf mark 6: TestDriven - Golf mark 6 video review: Which?
Youtube video credit: Manufacturing video for Golf mark 7: TestDriven - Golf mark 7 video review: Which?